The frame game.

by Jen

I stumbled across this video today. I’ve referred to a good chunk of Matthew Nisbet’s work throughout this project, but I was surprised how well he hit the high notes in this short clip. If our goal is to effectively frame science communication so that audiences accept scientific consensus, we have to know how to measure the effects of that framing; we have to know what frames are being used to generate controversy before we can re-frame messages to avoid it. In other words, we have to understand the current state, design for a future state, prototype, evaluate, iterate, lather, rinse, repeat.

I’ll post soon with details about my first prototype and the information it’s providing me about audience effect… hopefully Nisbet’s comments will sound familiar when I do.

